Following and Abiding

… because He said to

Scripture and a Snapshot

In my anguish I cried to the Lord, and he answered by setting me free. 

Psalm 118:5

By setting me free.

Any scripture that reminds me of all that Christ has set me free from stops me in my tracks. I see the printed words, and I can go no further.

He set me free.

I sit back and I look up at the ceiling and I breathe out, “Thank you for setting me free.” Although he knows every beat of my heart, I have to say the words out loud. I want to make sure he can hear me. Is that a little silly? I don’t think so. He loves the sound of my voice.

He set me free from my obsession with death… released me from those beastly claws that were sunk so deep.

He set me free from impulse to harm myself… invited me to place my fingers where the nails pierced his hands.

He says, “I can carry it all.”

He lets me fall against His chest at the end of a hard day, bury my weary face into the folds of his robe, feel his chin resting on my head.

I call him Abba.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

