Following and Abiding

… because He said to

A New Kind Of Sacrifice

I’ve been planning it out for a few days now. Not exactly what I’m going to say to this person that has so purposely pushed my buttons, but the tone I can’t wait to use and the words that I know will hurt the most. I might not even say it to the actual person, but complain to someone else. Pour out all my anger and hurt so that someone, anyone, will know just how rough I have it. I cry in my alone moments, I remind myself of how difficult and complicated my life is. How the world is just unfair to me. I haven’t yet had the opportunity, the right moment to strike. And I read…

Be angry, and do not sin;
ponder in your own hearts on your beds, and be silent.

“Ok, I can do that. I do that all the time, God.”

Offer right sacrifices,
and put your trust in the LORD. (Psalm 4:4-5)

“Well, I try to trust you, but it’s kind of a vague word with very little practical action for me. Sacrifices… I’m not sure about that. We don’t really sling dead animals on an alter anymore, but there is that whole thing about sacrificing time and money and all that.”

Then I had one of those moments where I look at a passage of scripture that I’ve read 2 dozen times and suddenly see it with new eyes, new revelation.

Being angry, and not sinning, is a right sacrifice. Trusting that God can handle what I think I get to meddle with is a right sacrifice.

This is rough. This means that if I want to offer a sacrifice to my God I have to shut my big mouth and let Him deal with both of us. He is devoted to caring for this person that I want to blast with my own self-righteousness.

“On your bed”… chew on this commentary, it’s pretty meaty.

“In the silence of night; in solitary musings on our bed; when withdrawn from the world, and from all the promptings of passion and ambition, and when, if at any time, we cannot but feel that the eye of God is upon us, the mind is most likely to be in a proper state to review its plans, and to inquire whether those plans can be expected to meet the divine approbation.”

This is a greater sacrifice for me than opening my checkbook or rearranging my schedule.

945008_10152825231890711_702293116_n

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A New Kind Of Sacrifice

  1. Pingback: A New Kind Of Sacrifice | Following and Abiding

Leave a Reply

